Real-world usecases for the Collections API

Hi everyone! I’m brand new to Sitejet. Can anyone tell me about any example real-world usecases for the Collections API? Trying to wrap my head around that to see if it’s something I could possibly need access to at some point.

Thanks!

Anyone??? A little help please.

not sure avout api calls here in the data collection. generally speaking you can use api calls to query data and pull that data into another application. that said if you needed to pull (or push) data from say…. airtable or google sheets form (or anything else) to populate some sort of data then you could use for that. is there a specific use case you are thinking about?

Specific usecase examples is what I’m asking about. How are you fellow Sitejetters using the API? I’m trying to decide if I need to upgrade to get access to the API. Having an idea of what some others are using it for in the real world would help me make that decision.

@Andre hey can you help me out here?Honestly I was hoping to poll the community and get responses from others with real world uses cases, but this community doesn’t seem to have any answers. Not very lively here I guess.

1 Like

Hi Steve!
I guess most of the users here, have not created advanced websites to use the Collection API.
In general, as mentioned by John, the Collection API offers a bidirectional way to communicate with external apps/websites (basically it is a Rest API access endpoint to collections).
As for specific examples, here are a few:

• Fontend submissions - if you want to allow users (visitors) to post data inside 1/multiple collections - this was a bit discussed here
  • The Template Gallery from SiteJet - it looks that they are using the API here… but, the idea here is simple you can use the Collection API to show the data on other websites